GCC Announces Unified Tourist Visa

GCC’s unified tourist visa set to boost regional travel.

Jeddah Waterfront
Jeddah Waterfront/ Dalya-al

The Gulf Cooperation Council (GCC) has announced a unified tourist visa. This decision was made at the 40th meeting of the GCC Interior Ministers in Muscat, held at Oman’s Al Bustan Palace Hotel.

Boosting Travel Across GCC

The latest initiative aims to make it easier for visitors to travel across the six GCC member states: Bahrain, Kuwait, Oman, Qatar, Saudi Arabia, and the United Arab Emirates. Visitors with a unified tourist visa will be able to travel freely between these countries without the need for separate visas.

Middle East Leads Global Tourism Recovery

According to the UNWTO’s World Tourism Barometer for September 2023, the Middle East region is leading the global tourism recovery. Qatar and Saudi Arabia have been ranked among the top 10 nations for international tourist arrivals from January to July 2023, compared to the same period in 2019.